MURRAY PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES REGULAR MEETING TUESDAY, OCTOBER 19, 2010

The Murray Planning Commission met in regular session on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 at 5:00 p.m. in the council chambers of City Hall located at 104 N. 5th Street.

Commissioners Present: Mary Anne Medlock, Tom Kind, Kevin Perry, Ed Davis, Ed Pavlick, Loretta Jobs, Jeremy Boyd, Marc Peebles, and Richard Vanover

Commissioners Absent: Amber DuVentre

Also Present: Candace Dowdy, Peyton Mastera, David Roberts, and James Oakley

Chairman Vanover called the meeting to order and welcomed all guests. Chairman Vanover asked for approval of the minutes from the October 6, 2010 special meeting.

A motion was made by Ed Davis to approve the minutes from the October 6, 2010 special meeting with noted corrections. Ed Pavlick seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously.

Public hearing to review text amendments to the City of Murray Zoning Ordinance -Section III, Article 8 – Stormwater Conveyance and Erosion Control: Candace Dowdy stated that the proposed changes to the section of the ordinance were being amended in order to comply with the Kentucky Division of Water requirements. She added that prior to a text amendment being recommended to the City Council a public hearing must be held by the Planning Commission.

Chairman Vanover opened the public hearing and asked if there was anyone that wished to speak in favor of the proposed text amendments.

James A. Oakley, Jr., Stormwater Engineer for the City of Murray was sworn in. Mr. Oakley stated the Kentucky Division of Water has requested that the amendments be added to the Stormwater Conveyance and Erosion Control Ordinance. These proposals are to prohibit elicit discharges into the storm sewer system. The commissioners asked for clarification of some items and pointed out some typing errors that needed to be changed.

Chairman Vanover asked if there was anyone that wished to speak in opposition to the proposed text amendments. There was no one. Chairman Vanover closed the public hearing and turned it over to the commissioners for discussion.

Tom Kind made a motion to approve the proposed text amendments to the City of Murray Zoning Ordinance Section III, Article 8 – Stormwater Conveyance and Erosion Control with the corrections noted and forward it to the City Council. Loretta Jobs seconded the motion and the motion carried with a 9-0 voice vote.

Notation about cell towers: Peyton Mastera stated that anytime there is any modification to an existing cell tower in Murray, as a courtesy Planning Staff informs the Planning Commission of that change. The tower at 302 Andrus Drive is owned by the City of Murray. Mr. Mastera stated that Clearwire Sprint is co-locating at the site and adding an antennae ray for Nextel. Mr. Mastera said that all the necessary paperwork had been submitted to the Planning Department and approved and that the work would be done by Murray Electric.

Election of Officers: Chairman Vanover read the current offices of the Planning Commission and the members that currently hold these positions. They are as follows: Richard Vanover – Chairman; Ed Pavlick – 1^{st} Vice Chairman; Tom Kind – 2^{nd} Vice Chairman; and Loretta Jobs – Secretary. He asked for nominations for a new slate of officers for the coming year.

Marc Peebles made a motion to keep the current slate officers for the coming year. Tom Kind seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously.

Questions and comments: David Roberts stated that a representative from the Division of Water visited the Planning Department the previous Friday to inspect the KPDES program. Mr. Roberts commented that the Murray program under the leadership of James Oakley is doing a good job and setting a good example for Western Kentucky and the rest of the state.

Adjournment: Marc Peebles made a motion to adjourn. Ed Davis seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously. *The meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.*

Chairman, Richard Vanover

Recording Secretary, Reta Gray