## MURRAY PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES REGULAR MEETING TUESDAY, JANUARY 19, 2010

The Murray Planning Commission met in regular session on Tuesday, January 19, 2010 at 5:00 p.m. in the council chambers of City Hall located at 104 N. 5<sup>th</sup> Street.

**Commissioners Present:** Marc Peebles, Ed Pavlick, Mary Anne Medlock, Tom Kind, Jeremy Boyd, Amber DuVentre, and Richard Vanover

Commissioners Absent: Ed Davis and Loretta Jobs

**Also Present:** Candace Dowdy, Peyton Mastera, David Roberts, Officer Jimmy Osborne, and public audience

Chairman Vanover called the meeting to order and welcomed all guests. Chairman Vanover asked for approval of the minutes from the November 17, 2009 regular meeting.

Ed Pavlick made a motion to approve the minutes from the November 17, 2009 regular meeting as presented. Amber DuVentre seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously.

**Discussion of Chesapeake Village Subdivision – Jones-Sparkman Road – Paul and Vickie Garland:** Candace Dowdy stated that the final plat was approved for Chesapeake Village Subdivision on May 19, 2009. The developers did not have the plat recorded and there were never any lots sold out of the subdivision. Recently a minor subdivision plat was submitted replating a portion of the subdivision. All of the acreage except for six lots that front Jones-Sparkman Road has been sold; therefore, the subdivision will not be developed. *Marc Peebles entered the meeting at 5:10 p.m.* 

**Discussion of Planning Commission Bylaws:** Candace Dowdy stated that there had not been any amendments to the Bylaws since 2007; therefore, the decision was made to review the entire document. The Planning Staff intended to have a draft copy of the Planning Commission Bylaws ready for the meeting; however, the draft copy was not given to the attorney early enough. Ms. Dowdy stated that there were a couple of items that would be brought before the Planning Commissioners at the next month's meeting. One of the items was concerning the number of Commissioners that could serve. KRS states that you cannot have less than five members or more than twenty members. In addition, in the past, anyone that served on the Planning Commission had been required to be a resident to the City of Murray. KRS does not specifically state that a member has to reside in the city. It only defines a member as a citizen member or non-citizen member. A citizen member is an appointed or elected official of the city or county. Ms. Dowdy stated that they had consulted with The Kentucky League of Cities for their opinion on this matter. There was discussion for having one or two members that reside outside the city limits but within the four mile radius so that there would be representation for that area. David Roberts stated that historically the Mayor appoints nine members of the Planning Commission and the Judge Executive appoints one member which makes a total of ten

commissioners. Ms. Dowdy stated that currently they are short one commissioner and typically they tried to have a recommendation for the Mayor to make an appointment within sixty days of the vacancy.

## Questions and Comments: None.

Adjournment: Jeremy Boyd made a motion to adjourn. Marc Peebles seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously. *The meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.* 

Chairman, Richard Vanover

Recording Secretary, Reta Gray