MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL

January 9, 2020 6:30 P.M.

The Murray City Council met in regular session on Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall with Mayor Bob Rogers presiding.

Council Members Present: Jeremy Bell, Wesley Bolin, Linda Cherry, Rose Elder, Danny Hudspeth, Monty McCuiston, John Mark Roberts, Alice Rouse, Pat Seiber, Terry Strieter, Burton Young

Council Members Absent: Dan Miller

Staff Present: Bob Byczynski, Dannetta Clayton, City Attorney Warren Hopkins, Jeff Liles, Bennett Moore, Jim Osborne

Mayor Rogers called the meeting to order and welcomed Council members and guests.

After a moment of reflection, Rose Elder led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The minutes of the Council meeting of December 12, 2019 were presented for approval. **Dr. Strieter** moved for approval; seconded by Mr. Roberts. All members present voted Aye.

The minutes of the Special Called Council meeting of December 17, 2019 were presented for approval. Mr. Bell moved for approval; seconded by Ms. Rouse. All members present voted Aye.

Mayor's Report

Mayor Rogers stated the 16th Street speed tables are in place, and the street is now open. He stated that in the Kentucky League of Cities magazine there is feature story regarding the City's community liaison program. Mayor Rogers announced the next Council meeting scheduled for January 23, 2020 will begin at 5:00 p.m. and due to the change in time, it will be designed as a special meeting.

Mayor Rogers recognized Transportation Committee Chair, Jeremy Bell. Chair Bell reported the Transportation Committee had a meeting prior to the Council meeting. He stated the Transportation Committee invited Kyle Poat from the Paducah Transportation Cabinet, to give an update on future transportation projects. Chair Bell stated it was a very informative meeting, and Mr. Poat will come back in a few months to give an update on the Way Finding Sign project.

Consent Agenda

- a) <u>Municipal Order Number 2020-061</u> reappointing James Clinger to the Murray Calloway Transit Authority for a term of four (4) years. Said term will expire January 28, 2024.
- b) Municipal Order Number 2020-062 reappointing Adam Clark to the Cable Commission for a term of four (4) years. Said term to expire January 1, 2024.
- c) <u>Municipal Order Number 2020-063</u> reappointing Janice Thomasson to the Cable Commission for a term of four (4) years. Said term to expire January 10, 2024.
- d) Municipal Order Number 2020-064 reappointing Janice Rose to the Weaks Community Center Board for a term of three (3) years. Said term to expire January 20, 2023.
- e) <u>Municipal Order Number 2020-065</u> reappointing Cheryl Crouch to the Senior Citizens Board for a term of one (1) year. Said term to expire January 10, 2021.

- f) Municipal Order Number 2020-066 reappointing Martin Milkman to the Planning Commission for a term of four (4) years. Said term to expire January 28, 2024.
- g) Municipal Order Number 2020-067 appointing Shane Mastera to the Murray Calloway County Park Board to fill the unexpired term of Angie Bogard. Said term to expire January 14, 2021.

Mr. Hudspeth moved for approval of the consent agenda; seconded by Dr. Strieter. All members present voted Aye.

The Council had a brief discussion regarding the funding for the Park pool and lighting. Mr. Bell stated the Park Board meets the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Annex building, except the January meeting, which is the fourth Monday.

With no other business before the Council, Mr. Bell moved to adjourn; seconded by Dr. Strieter. All members present voted Aye.

The meeting adjourned at 6:47 p.m.
Bob Rogers, Mayor
ATTEST
Dannetta Clayton, City Clerk