The City of Murray, Kentucky

Home > Administration > City Council

City Council


The City of Murray is governed by the Mayor and twelve publicly-elected city council members who serve four and two year terms respectively.

Council members are the legislative body of local government. Pursuant to KRS 83A.040, a member of the legislative body must be at least 21 years of age, be a qualified voter in the city, and be a resident of the city throughout the term of office.

City legislators must be elected at a regular election. They serve a two year term that begins January 1st after the election.

City legislators are required per KRS 62.010 to take an oath of office on or before their term begins.

In a Mayor-Council form of government, City Council may only act as a whole body. Individual city council members may not make decisions or act on behalf of the body. The Council must have a quorum, or majority of all members, in order to act. (KRS 83A.060). The Council is prohibited from performing any administrative or executive functions (KRS 83A.130), they do not have any authority over the day to day functions of a city government. According to KRS 83A.130, all legislative authority is in the hands of the city council, such as establishing ordinances, municipal orders, and resolutions. 


Member Member Since Term Ending
Jeremy Bell 2007-present December 2020
Wesley Bolin 2016-present December 2020
Linda Cherry 2007-present December 2020
Rose Ross Elder 2019-present December 2020
Danny Hudspeth 1988-2009, Mayor 10/09-12/10,2011-present December 2020
Monty McCuiston 2019-present December 2020
Dan Miller 1994-1998, 2001-present December 2020
John Mark Roberts 2017-present December 2020
Alice Rouse 2019-present December 2020
Pat Seiber 2019-present December 2020
Terry Strieter 2019-present December 2020
Burton Young 2015-present December 2020

City Council Group List:

Committees of the City Council

Council Members



Council meetings are held the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. The council meetings are televised the following day at 10:00 AM. For more information or agendas see the agendas and minutes at the bottom of this page or call the city clerk's office at 762-0300 ext. 1116.

The most current agenda will be linked below. Meeting minutes will be posted after they are approved at the following City Council meeting. Audio tapes of meetings are available upon request at the cost of a dvd. Check the city event calendar for the next meeting date and time